MIT Motorsports (Formula SAE)

MIT Motorsport’s mission is to educate students as professional engineers and leaders through the development of a competitive prototype vehicle. Working with the team takes students out of the classroom and allows them to apply textbook theories to real work experience.

MIT Motorsports (Formula SAE) At a glance

Number of Members:

50 members in 2018-2019
Team leaders: 
  • Serena Grown-Haeberli
Year began: 
Amos Winter
Team Updates

In the 2018 competition, the team placed first in the acceleration event; first in the autocross event; and second in the skid pad event. Despite being disqualified from endurance—the car exceeded the 80kW power limit beyond the 100ms allowed when leaving the starting line—they still finished 1 minute and 54 seconds ahead of all of their rivals. The team placed fourth overall, walking away from the competition knowing they had built their strongest car ever. Notably, their average lap in endurance was 7.2 seconds faster than every other team that finished the 2018 event

Our Sponsors

Edgerton Center, Altium, Mechanical Engineering Department, Marlin Oil Corporation, kx, General Motors, AIRTECH Advanced Materials Group, Beantown Taqueria, Bertucci's Italian Restaurant, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department, FUTEK Advanced Sensor Technology, SBG Systems, Blue Origin, Advanced Circuits, AeroAstro Department, Gordon Engineering Leadership Program, LINEAR Technology, The First Electronics Corporation, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, VectoIQ, SKF, Calspan, Bender, Auto Accessories Garage

Follow MIT Motorsports (Formula SAE)